xorl %eax, %eax

News: #grhack becomes private

with 2 comments

A few minutes ago someone told me that the well known Greek security community of grhack became an “officially” private community. In my opinion this is a strange move but I cannot comment anything since I have no clue of the goals and motivation that lead to it, as well as any underlying stories being involved.

This community has contributed a lot to the security world from publishing content in e-zines such as phrack, to presenting in security industry conferences the past two years.

Also, since they turned to a private community I’ll remove my link to their website. It will be useless having a link to a private community. Finally, best wishes and good luck with your new community. :)

Written by xorl

January 11, 2011 at 14:44

Posted in news, Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, *they* turned private and why shouldn’t *they*?
    grhack actually contributed something (as you correctly and objectively mention).

    As for their motivation, while I have no real clue, I would venture a guess and say is lack of appreciation, from a certain segment of the so-called scene.

    some user

    January 13, 2011 at 16:07

  2. No offense to the grhack community but personally I do not consider them part of the Greek hacking scene at all.
    That said, there should be no expectations of appreciation.

    In my opinion it was a security oriented community with excellent level compared to others.

    xorl

    January 13, 2011 at 16:57


Leave a Reply

