xorl %eax, %eax

Book: FM 21-76: Survival Field Manual

with 2 comments

Well, I usually read survival related books since I occasionally do various outdoor activities such as trekking, camping, rafting etc. and sometimes you can find some really neat tips in such books. Anyway, after reading that army manual I decided to write the following small review…

FM21-76

First of all, I know that the book is old. Nevertheless, it contains all of the basic concepts of survival in different situations. It doesn’t include any really innovative ideas if you have any previous knowledge on the subject and it is written in a quite strict manner that makes it very boring. To be honest, I would never suggest this book to someone who wants to learn the basics of survival. I would almost certainly suggest something like the all time classic “SAS Survival Handbook” by John Wiseman which is by far more comprehensive and complete. Anyway, I cannot say that it is a completely useless book but I can surely say that it isn’t the best that you can find out there.

Written by xorl

October 15, 2009 at 21:33

Posted in books

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you had a look at any of the Foxfire books?

    fuzion

    October 15, 2009 at 23:13

  2. @fuzion: No, I haven’t.

    xorl

    October 16, 2009 at 19:33


Leave a Reply

