xorl %eax, %eax

blah

with 30 comments

Due to fail in time management I don’t think I will be able to continue the blog. So, at least for now (whatever this might mean), this blog can be considered as dead. I apologise for the comments that remained un-moderated/not-approved for like a week and the unaswered emails. Have fun with whatever you do and as always Happy Coding!!!
Here are two neat attachments…

1) A computer terminal pic. from the Schiphol airport at Netherlands while arriving there for har2009

shiphol

You can download it in higher resolution from here.

2) Metallica – Wherever I may roam

har2009 stuff:
@DrWhax: Dude I’m really sorry for not meeting you at the 2600nl village. I saw a guy that should be you since he was wearing a t-shirt that had that name written in the back. Maybe we’ll meet in another place some time. :)

@ret: Man… I logged in to EFNet at least 2 times when I was at har to find you and you were not there. Too bad, I really wanted to meet you in real life. :)

Thanks to mumpi of phonoelit for the awesome parties and FX for being such a cool (and drunk?) guy!!! Also, cccp you rock man (we had some fun time even though you didn’t know that I was xorl)!!! xD

I will be occasionally checking the comments and emails but please, don’t get angry if this isn’t really often.

.313.

Written by xorl

August 22, 2009 at 13:35

Posted in Uncategorized

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that fucking sucks :(. I can understand that this blog eats time as hell, but this was the best Exploitation resource on all the Internets ..

    foobar

    August 22, 2009 at 13:55

  2. Too bad. I discovered your blog quite lately, but I spent so much hours reading your posts/analysis. Anyway, enjoy your new free time :-)

    gl

    August 22, 2009 at 14:58

  3. is it possible to archive the website? Just wondering.
    It would be nice to have a copy to read/learn offline.

    h

    August 22, 2009 at 16:05

  4. This seriously was one of the best exploit blogs on the internet. You went into such excellent detail, and I learned a lot through the process. I really hope you reconsider abandoning the blog, but if you don’t, thank you for your time and effort. :)

    meepster

    August 22, 2009 at 16:15

  5. @foobar: I don’t think that there is that much exploitation stuff in here.

    @gl: Thanks, even though that free time is almost already occupied :(

    @h: I’m not aware of something that you could do apart from some ready to use tools to create a mirror (wget -m for example) of the site. However, if no hacker rm it. It will be here as long as wordpress.com is alive (I hope so at least).

    @meepster: Thanks, I will probably make new posts in the future. However, I don’t know when… So, for now I don’t have any free time to spend on the blog and this is why I consider it dead.

    xorl

    August 22, 2009 at 16:18

  6. Who knows, maybe someone else might show up and write some posts while you are ‘away’ ;)

    ithilgore

    August 22, 2009 at 19:53

  7. @ithilgore: WTF? You pwned me and you’re about to impersonate me? :P

    xorl

    August 22, 2009 at 19:56

  8. @xorl: I bet he pwned you with ncraq.

    @h: wget -r -np https://xorl.wordpress.com should do the trick

    xorl is one of the first of many blogs that’ve taken the care and attention to evaluate vulnerability development almost with as much frevor as cr0.org and probably with as much attention as kernelbof. Being updated almost as regularly as oss-security mailing lists; in recent times, xorl has (with influence from spender) decidedly paid more attention to kernel based bugs, regardless, your blog is unlike many others, a lot of your viewers feel very comfortable with this blog, and find themselves opening it up before google when their browsers are loaded. If you’re truly leaving, you will forever remain in our heartz! Fear not, from where you pioneered blogging, motivation shall ensue those that’ll follow after you.

    Remember what I said about one more bug, xorl ? ;o

    Cya <3

    ret

    August 22, 2009 at 20:31

  9. Well apart from the fact that I was next to you when you logged in the blog while at HAR and typed your at-least-20-size-password, people do say a lot when drunk. Lulz!

    ithilgore

    August 22, 2009 at 20:33

  10. @ret: Thank you very much. I’m glad that people from the underground found this blog useful. I’m not leaving. As I said earlier, I know that I will somehow manage to find some time to continue but for now I don’t have any spare time for blogging.
    Yes, I remember what you said. I have good memory when I’m not drunk. :)

    @ithilgore: Jesus! How did I spell that thing man? I can hardly do this even when I’m sober!

    xorl

    August 22, 2009 at 20:49

  11. This blog will be sorely missed! **CENSORED** (yes, I knew it all along ;) ) take care man :-)

    thanasisk

    August 22, 2009 at 21:36

  12. @thanasisk: In fact, you knew this from the point when the user you mentioned did a paste of a comment to you on IRC. :P
    Anyway, see you around and maybe we can go for a coffee some time.

    xorl

    August 22, 2009 at 23:16

  13. Thanks for your time and the posts.

    Jon

    August 23, 2009 at 00:49

  14. Too bad. I hope you find time in the future to continue this, because it was an awesome and useful blog.
    Alfred

    Alfred

    August 23, 2009 at 02:43

  15. @xorl: WAY before that mate :) See you for coffee :)

    thanasisk

    August 23, 2009 at 07:06

  16. Keep making so detailed (and frequent) vulnerability analysis posts is definitely a very time consuming task; I can surely appreciate that. Hopefully at some point in the future you will find the time to continue.

    argp

    August 24, 2009 at 08:53

  17. Thanks for the great posts.

    joebarb

    August 25, 2009 at 03:23

  18. sorry to see it go. anybody know any other vuln discussion blogs worth following?

    nahsra

    August 25, 2009 at 17:09

  19. Sorry to see a site like this goes away, but I believe you have reasons to do so, so good luck :)

    antek

    August 26, 2009 at 05:40

  20. xorl, where are you!

    ret

    August 27, 2009 at 21:17

  21. @ret: I’m quite busy these days. I’ll do what we have said hopefully in the weekend. Sorry for the delay but I don’t have spare time to do this now.

    xorl

    August 27, 2009 at 22:26

  22. Yeah, I just never saw you on irc, so I kinda wondered where you were; if you need my help you know where I iz; take it easy with work && all.

    ret

    August 28, 2009 at 21:22

  23. @ret: That’s true. Thank you! :)

    xorl

    August 28, 2009 at 23:59

  24. While I certainly won’t be able to cover the breadth that xorl did, I plan on regularly detailing vulnerabilities in the Linux kernel on my blog.

    For example, one recent post I just finished up:

    http://jon.oberheide.org/blog/2009/08/29/linux-kernel-getname-stack-memory-disclosures/

    Jon Oberheide

    August 30, 2009 at 11:08

  25. @Jon Oberheide: That’s good! Good luck with that new section. Also, I strongly disagree with the disclosure of exploit codes but it is your choice of course…

    xorl

    August 30, 2009 at 14:09

  26. uh, bad news… I’m just starting learning C and your approach was very interesting… btw thanks for the work!

    t4d

    August 31, 2009 at 08:02

  27. Ahh yea to bad we didn’t see eachother @ har more events in the future though. Just take it easy with work & everything.

    Peace

    DrWhax

    August 31, 2009 at 20:26

  28. You proven one can be funny, pedagogical and very skilled at the same time. You are a source of inspiration and will be missed. Gut luck with ze everything. *hugz* ~back to the lonely road again. Hello darkness my old friend.. :P

    the random wannabe

    September 1, 2009 at 10:03

  29. Great blog man, hope you’ll have more time soon…

    Trancer

    September 10, 2009 at 10:54

  30. Guess i’m a late guest at this blog, i’ve been devouring your posts in the last few days. Just love the way you talk about stuff and your attitude towards the conceptual level of hacking things up, i’ve been learning some cool things:) sad to know this will stay as it is for some time. Anyway, hope you’ll find a bitsy to keep posting in the future.
    All the best!

    trenpixster

    October 13, 2009 at 17:18


Leave a Reply

