xorl %eax, %eax

Code Layout

with 6 comments

Hello eveyone and sorry for not posting anything the past days. The reason is that I had a couple of emails complaining about the readability of the codes I paste. They’re probably right, using this layout it isn’t really easy to read code, especially if you have high resolution on your monitor. Unfortunately, even though there are great plug-ins for wordpress I cannot use them since it is not allowed to do so.

What I was using was simple HTML <pre> tags colored yellow. If you have any suggestions please let me know. My initial thought was to change the color from yellow to white and the result would be something like this:

int
main(void)
{
    return 0;
}

If your suggestion is to host this blog in some server, then the answer is “no”. It’s not about money, it’s that I don’t have enough free time to administrate another box and I would never install wordpress in one of my boxes. :P

Sorry for the inconvenience , If we cannot find any solution I’ll continue with the current layout. Thank you all for supporting this blog. :)

Written by xorl

June 2, 2009 at 09:37

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, check out Google Code Prettify (http://code.google.com/p/google-code-prettify/), might be suitable. Its Javascript/CSS based and works well.

    Keep up the good work!

    sf

    June 2, 2009 at 10:20

  2. You cannot edit CSS for bigger font? (+1 size would be it I think) well if that so then wordpress.com really suck.

    zuo

    June 2, 2009 at 15:03

  3. @sf: Thanks a lot, I’m going to try this asap. However, since wordpress doesn’t allow you to upload js files and they are quite large to copy/paste in each post I’ll upload it somewhere (or ask a friend to host them for me) and use it from there.

    @zuo: I don’t think that the problem is just the font size. To answer your question, it allows you to edit CSS.

    xorl

    June 2, 2009 at 15:22

  4. Have you checked out the custom sourcecode tag described on http://support.wordpress.com/code/#posting-source-code which wordpress.com provides?

    I found it when editing my last blog post at http://dividead.wordpress.com/2009/06/01/glibc-timezone-integer-overflow/ and I was pretty happy with the result.

    dividead

    June 3, 2009 at 12:43

  5. @dividead: Thanks! That’s just awesome!
    I tested google-code-prettify but it wasn’t what I wanted when line numbers were included, but this is great.
    By the way, great post! :)

    xorl

    June 3, 2009 at 13:18


Leave a Reply

