xorl %eax, %eax

About xorl

with 6 comments

Yesterday, I saw something really weird (for my standards) on the twitter one of my personally favorite security researchers who asked for information about me. Well, it’s kind of scary that everyone wants desperately to know “who is xorl“. To clarify, you probably don’t know me and never heard of me before, I have never been on IRC (apart from some channels with no more than 5 people which I know really well or I’m friend with in real life, always Greeks in both cases), I’m just some common guy who is interested in security and has no affiliations (at least no direct ones) with either the underground scene or the security industry, thus no allies or enemies. At last, if these are not enough for you, just email me directly instead of asking random people or friends of mine wherever you see them (IRC, forums, in real life etc.). Sorry for this useless post but it seems like this gorlist‘s idea (this blog was his idea) has gained some totally unexpected attention which I couldn’t even imagine when publishing the first post.

My apologies to people that don’t understand what I’m talking about in this post.

Written by xorl

May 5, 2009 at 12:00

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do not worry, it may be visitors to your blog and impressed by:)

    security-root

    May 5, 2009 at 12:27

  2. No offense security-root by I hardly think that security researchers such as Alexander Sotirov or some other sec. related guys that asked for information about me can be impressed with a couple of bug reviews.

    xorl

    May 5, 2009 at 13:06

  3. Your bug reviews clearly show a great understanding of software & security.

    I think that “security researchers such as Alexander Sotirov” are interested in getting to know smart people with similar interests. Especially when they seem to come out of nowhere :)

    nbm

    May 5, 2009 at 14:23

  4. Hey xorl, I’m just curious about other people who are interested in vulnerabilities. I recently discovered your blog and I like reading it, you regularly post good stuff. Very few people talk publicly about vulnerability analysis these days. Keep it up!

    Alexander Sotirov

    May 5, 2009 at 17:23

  5. Thank you very much!
    Regarding your comment on vulnerability analysis, since my interest in security has nothing to do with money, I cannot see the reason why not to post about publicly known vulnerabilities.
    Also, that “who is xorl” was a little bit obscure… What exactly do you want to know about me?

    And finally, correction in my post:

    attention which I couldn’t even imagine when publishing the first post.
    + Specifically, I could have never imagined, or even attempt to,
    + that some day Alexander Sotirov would be curious about me.

    xorl

    May 5, 2009 at 17:41

  6. Sotirov is a twat who will yap about what he had for lunch.

    Keep up the good work, your site is very interesting.

    Yay

    May 6, 2009 at 09:58


Leave a Reply

